☰ Menu

Wadsworth voters to choose city council, school board members in Tuesday's election

By Beau Dusz correspondent

Voters in Wadsworth Tuesday will choose all eight members of City Council, three of the five-member Board of Education, a Treasurer and an Auditor.

The council is composed of a president, three at-large members and four ward representatives.

At-large candidates on Tuesday's ballot are incumbent Democrat Patricia A. Haskins and Republican candidates Joseph A. Rodgers, Bob L. Thurber and David Williams. Incumbents Susan Hanlon and Elizabeth Workman chose not to stand for re-election.

In Ward 3, Republican Michael Robart is challenging incumbent John J. Sharkey IV; in Ward 4, Democrat David Anderson is running against incumbent Bruce Darlington.

For Ward 1, political newcomer, Republican Ralph Copley has no opposition; in Ward 2, incumbent Republican Dennis Shultz is also running unopposed.

Incumbent council president Thomas Palecek is unopposed.

Council members serve two-year terms. The president receives a $7,510 annual salary; council members, $7,090.

Seven candidates are competing for three seats on the Wadsworth Board of Education. Two of the openings are due to incumbents Jim McIlvaine and Lisa Jones deciding not to stand for re-election. The terms of two sitting members, Linda Kramer and David White, have not expired.

Incumbent Chuck Pfeister is in competition with Jason Arnold, Julie Batey, Mark J. Casalinova, Amanda E. Gordon, Ron Mendel and Donald A. Thomas for the three seats.

Board members receive $125 per meeting with a total yearly salary of approximately $1,500, according to the system's Treasurer Douglas Beeman.

City Auditor Catherine Fix and City Treasurer Robert Plank, are each running unopposed. The salary of each office is $27,624 yearly. Both are standing for re-election this year due to being appointed to fill vacancies in those offices.



©2014 The Akron Beacon Journal • 44 E. Exchange Street, Akron, Ohio 44308